Quick Pics – Flying Pig Food Truck

November 19, 2009

Exiting Toshi Sushi COMPLETELY stuffed, I spied this thing across the street on the corner of 1st/Central:

As full as I was, I can’t resist a food truck, especially one with no lines, so I trucked my ass across the street and ordered two items off their menu.

Braised Pork Belly Buns with red onion escabeche, sesame cucumber. Reminded me of David Chang’s pork belly buns, without the wait. Actually, this IS David Chang’s infamous pork belly buns from momofuki ssam bar. The buns were warm and soft, the pork belly tender and flavorful. Tasty little package. $3 each.

Beef and pork sliders with daikon sprout and banana mustard. Not bad, but the meat was a tad bit dry. I don’t know if it was the combination of pork and meat or the feeling that it was already cooked and just reheated. 2 for $5.

Mad friendly crew handling this flying pig. Nice peoples.

While I wouldn’t drive out of my way for this truck (or any truck for that matter), if I happen to run into the flying pig again, I would definitely pick up pork belly slider or two and maybe try a few other items on their menu. It’s certainly cheaper than flying my ass out to NYC and dealing with the no reservation BS that is momofuku ssam bar.

Figure out where you can see pigs fly here and check out their menu here.

Oink Oink.

Leave a Reply

